ENG vs AUS: Shubman Gill was out then how did Duckett survive? Why there is confusion on Stark’s catch, know what is the rule?
[ad_1]
Highlights
Controversy erupted over a catch by Mitchell Starc in the Ashes Test
ENG vs AUS: Shubman Gill was out then how did Duckett survive? Why there is confusion on Stark’s catch, know what is the rule?
New Delhi. You will remember the final of the World Test Championship between India and Australia. In that match, Cameron Green took a catch in the slip of Shubman Gill, which caused a lot of controversy. Whether that catch was caught cleanly or not, debate continued for a long time even after the match. Now something similar has happened in the second Test being played between England and Australia at Lord’s. In this match also a controversy has arisen over a catch. However, unlike the WTC Final, this time the decision was not in favor of Australia. That’s why there is controversy. Because just as the TV umpire gave Gill out caught in the WTC Final, similarly the third umpire declared the batter not out in the Lord’s Test.
As the controversy escalated, the Marylebone Cricket Club, or MCC, the organization that made the rules of cricket, also had to come down to clarify. Why is there so much controversy over the catch? What does MCC rule say? Let’s know. On the fourth day of the Lord’s Test, Australian all-rounder Cameron Green bowled a short ball to Ben Duckett, on which Duckett played a ramp shot like fine leg. The ball went in the air and Mitchell Starc, stationed there, took the catch while running fast on his left side. But, it was seen in the replay that the ball had made contact with the ground. After completing the catch, the ball had touched the ground. ENG vs AUS: Shubman Gill was out then how did Duckett survive? Why there is confusion on Stark’s catch, know what is the rule?
The field umpire gave Duckett out. But when the third umpire crosschecked it, it was found that Stark had caught the catch. But, when the ball came in contact with the ground, Stark was not in complete control. Just on this basis, Duckett got life and he was declared not out by the third umpire.
ENG vs AUS: Shubman Gill was out then how did Duckett survive? Why there is confusion on Stark’s catch, know what is the rule?
Tags: ashes, England vs Australia, mitchell starc, Shubman Gill, WTC Final
[ad_2]